• Starting today August 7th, 2024, in order to post in the Married Couples, Courting Couples, or Singles forums, you will not be allowed to post if you have your Marital status designated as private. Announcements will be made in the respective forums as well but please note that if yours is currently listed as Private, you will need to submit a ticket in the Support Area to have yours changed.

Consejos Sobre Don Quixote

Fedora

Schola
Feb 14, 2004
26
1
✟146.00
Faith
Hace tiempo que quiero leer Don Quijote, la llamada mejor novela de todos los tiempos, pero la edad de la gran obra me da que pensar. Soy estudiante de español después de todo, y me pregunto si algunas de las palabras, estructuras, y locuciones arcaicas no me pondrán fácil de entender como estudiante. Por otro lado, recuerdo haber leído que el español en el siglo XVI es más similar a su forma moderna que es el inglés. Así que ¿me recomendarían la novela o no?

InTheCloud

Veteran
May 9, 2007
3,784
229
Planet Earth
✟27,597.00
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Libertarian
Early modern Spanish is closer to modern Spanish that their English counterparts. Spanish has less changes.
But there are some words that has either changed or fell into disuse. Often there are glosaries or notes in the some editions that explain that words. Get a Edition that has those notes and you will be OK.

I read the Cantar of Mio Cid, the medieval poem of the famous knigth Rodrigo Diaz de Vivar (Spain was the first place in Europe were second names became common). It was written in the 1000s, almost a millenioum ago and is fairly readable. Spanish has changed far less than English in the same period. Probably because Latin, Spanish's parent language was the language of the Church and scholars and hepled fix the language.

Upvote 0

Fedora

Schola
Feb 14, 2004
26
1
✟146.00
Faith
Believe me it would be easier that for a Spanish speaker to read Shakespeare.
I'm reading John of the Cross from about the same era.