Dec 2, 2004
✟21,847.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Others
I've been pondering this for a few months now, and I have spoken with some of my more well-read YEC friends and haven't found any answers that satisfy me yet. My thought process goes something like this:
1. If God created every animal and plant as a product of special creation, then they were created in their current form ~6,000 years ago with no change in structures.
2. This means that God created predators with dentition and a digestive system specialized for consuming meat. These specializations would not have been needed in the garden.

This means one of three things:
1. After the fall, God stepped in and did more acts of special creation to alter certain animals to be predators in the new fallen world.
2. Those structures were put there from the beginning because God knew man would disobey.
3. There is some biological mechanism that can produce changes in the structure of animals (i.e. mutations + selection).

I don't buy number two, because I feel like it's a cop out. Do you all have any thoughts on predators existing before the fall?

miamited

Ted
Site Supporter
Oct 4, 2010
Seneca SC
✟705,807.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Hi kt,

It would seem to me that Genesis 1:30 tells you how God originally made things, as far as what was given as food for all creatures. No one can really say what the power of sin, in which the creation continually groans, has really changed what God created for good. Is it possible that Able's body was torn by wild animals who came across it and found a liking for meat just as we have a liking for sin. Of course, if we carry that on out through the first generations we may find that a lot of animals tastes in food changed as they found dead flesh to gorge on.