mreeed

shalom...
Oct 2, 2014
✟76,579.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
Hi, I am new to having 'responsibility' for praise and worship at my congregation. We have a CCLI license, but it is taking me some time to actually get the info for it because it seems we don't usually use it directly, but for legal copyright protection I guess, and we are under a multi-site license, and that seems to complicate things.

Three quarters of the year we have a husband-wife couple who plays the music and it is a well-oiled machine, and this seems typiccal of what CCLI is for. When they go away for the winter we have been downloading from youtube since we have no one else who can play for us.

I am assured that this is no problem, everything is on the up-and-up from good people who take a pragmatic view of things, but I am the kind of person who likes to make sure of these things from the proper sources and not make assumptions. I am hesitant to use Youtube Downloader since it seems the general rule it is not legit per youtube even if it might be on the music copyright angle.

It seems like this area may fall into a grey area between CCLI (have started to speak to) and Youtube so wondering if anyone has experience with any of this and who you might direct me to?

Ken Behrens

Sep 5, 2016
Milford, Delaware, USA
Visit site
✟32,775.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
As i understand it, the downloads violate youtube policy. CCLI is for words and arrangements of the music. If you have wifi in the church, just play the video to sing with, and put the words on the screen, just as you would when the couple play.

Reactions: mreeed
Upvote 0

mreeed

shalom...
Oct 2, 2014
✟76,579.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private