Repentance works.
Jan 8, 2011
Near the flying spaghetti monster
✟57,848.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Private
I don't mean the text itself, I mean the the body of scripture. Could have done better just saying the canon probably. When I look at an individual tradition, it appears to be more static. Texts are not added, texts are not thrown out; the status quo does not change. I'm not a proponent that this should happen, I have no reason to be invested in such a thing.
Yes, in the Catholic Church the canon is not expanding. It is a list decided some time around 393 AD give or take a decade.

Upvote 0

Datak

Feb 7, 2015
✟7,641.00
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Private
We do not consider the LDS to be a Christian denomination or church (though they claim to be, I thnk), so what they believe about Scripture should have no bearing on this discussion.

OK, then another example I usually bring up when discussing the size of the canon is the Ethiopian Orthodox Church which boasts eighty-some texts in its canon.

Upvote 0

Architeuthus

Squid
Apr 29, 2015
✟16,006.00
Faith
Calvinist
Marital Status
Private
OK, then another example I usually bring up when discussing the size of the canon is the Ethiopian Orthodox Church which boasts eighty-some texts in its canon.

81, according to www.ethiopianorthodox.org/english/canonical/books.html

But the Ethiopian Orthodox Church, being Non-Chalcedonian, also has significant doctrinal differences from mainstream Christianity, which have been exacerbated by geographical isolation over much of the past 2,000 years. I don't consider their choice of canon particularly relevant.

Upvote 0

Datak

Feb 7, 2015
✟7,641.00
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Private
81, according to www.ethiopianorthodox.org/english/canonical/books.html