So I'm new to the family of god...and I have a question...

3M0_Girl

The scars Lie deep...but now God is deeper...
May 17, 2010
A small place called... Planet earth...
✟7,909.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Democrat
Basically, I don't know much about the different in depth accounts/titles/areas what ever it would be called.

Such as Baptist, Catholic, ect...

I was just wondering if some of you could in a nutshell, explain what it is you believe, and what category your beliefs would go under.

Thanks!
~Ashley K.

Eirlysa

saved by grace through faith working in love
Apr 7, 2010
England, United Kingdom
✟7,784.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
Most of the "titles" are denominations of different groups of Christians that have broken off over the years from the Catholic church, following the first spilt (The East - Orthodox and The West - Catholic - schism) over disagreements of dogma, doctrine, and interpretation of the Bible.

Generally speaking, the Protestant denominations (Episcopal, Baptist, etc) hold true to that the Bible is the main source of authority on all doctrine and dogma (this is called Sola Scripture) and the other churches (Catholic and Orthodox and also some Anglicans/Episcopal) believe in both the Bible and the non-biblical Sacred Tradition to define their doctrines and dogmas.

But the Statement of Faiths are a good read. :)

Upvote 0

oi_antz

Opposed to Untruth.
Apr 26, 2010
New Zealand
✟7,997.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
There is only one sprit of God - the Holy Spirit. All of Christ's churches possess the Holy Spirit, the difference within denominations is the interpretation of scriptural dogma. Axioms of belief if you like.