Psalms 86:11-13 ESV

“Teach me your way, O Lord,
that I may walk in your truth;
unite my heart to fear your name.
I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart,
and I will glorify your name forever.
For great is your steadfast love toward me;
you have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.”

It is important that we are taught the ways of the Lord, and that we are taught them correctly, so it is critical that we study the Scriptures for ourselves (in context) and that we do not rely on other humans to tell us the truth, for it seems not many are telling the truth these days. But we need to rely on the Holy Spirit to open up the Scriptures to us and to speak truth to our hearts. And we should guard against always assuming what the Scriptures mean, for some of us were taught some of them wrongly.

I know that for myself personally, the more I studied the Scriptures the more I began to see some of those things I was taught wrongly, and I began to see them in a different light, in the light of the truth of the gospel. Long time ago I tried to make them fit with whatever I had been taught, but so many of them didn’t fit, and so I let the Holy Spirit teach me what they were really saying, and then I began to embrace more and more of the truth and to reject more and more of the lies (or misinterpretations).

So, if we truly want the Lord Jesus to teach us his ways, so that we can walk in his truth, then we need to be open to him showing us some things we have believed wrongly and for us to then learn the truth of what is being taught so that we can apply those truths correctly to our lives. But getting at the truth is very important so that we can walk in that truth, and so we are correctly handling the word of truth to the best of our understanding in the power of God’s Spirit whenever we are sharing the Scriptures with others.