CJtheSearcher

Aug 13, 2014
Hefei, China
✟15,179.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
In Relationship
Hey everyone, been a long time since I posted here! I seem to come and go with regularity on here.

Back in December I finished my associates degree in criminal justice in the US and decided to take a job teaching English in China. One of the big reasons I came was because my girlfriend (who is Chinese) lives in Wuhan and is a university student there.

I've been here two months and have gotten to spend some very valuable time with her, and I have been able to have some cool experiences living in China (I mean, of course it is gonna be cool!). However, I've learned something very valuable since I've come here:

The importance of the church, the liturgy, and the sacraments.

Since coming to China I've only been able to attend church ONCE, and that was when I was still in Beijing. I, thankfully, was able to attend the Orthodox church located in the Russian Embassy. The priest was (thankfully, again!) bilingual, so I was able to go to confession and receive the Eucharist. Sadly I have left Beijing and there is no Orthodox presence in my current city (Hefei). The priest in at the embassy church also lamented this fact and told me to prepare for it.

So I'm thankful to God for the experience of living here in China, and it IS an amazing adventure I'm glad I am blessed to have. However, I've just come to realize the overwhelming importance and significance in my life of the church and sacraments. I guess my words to everyone here is: go to church often. When you really don't have the church and the sacraments around, you realize just how important they are. :) This is a lesson I'm teaching myself as well, as I know how spiritually lazy I can be (and very much have been) before I came to China and SINCE I came to China.