Is fallout a game that a Christian can play?

Blaise N

Jul 4, 2021
Midwest US
✟117,846.00
Country
United States
Faith
Protestant
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Republican
Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting to the video game community of CF.And I’m here to ask something that I’ve been thinking about.
So I’m a fan of a game series called FALLOUT,it’s a game based in a 1950s futuristic world that is destroyed by nuclear bombs and you play in post-apocalyptic world.

So I’ve been having some conscience issues about the game.Basically a player can choose to be a moral and good person or a bad and evil person.My character whom I play as,in all the versions I’ve played has always been good and all my in game choices have been based on biblical principles.I’ve always sided with allied factions that benefit the post apocalyptic nuclear society.

There are some shady things in the current version I play.Such as alcohol,Addictive/But beneficial chemicals that help your health and combat,combat situations with very evil people and monsters,Choices(which I’ve never chosen and never will) for players to be a homosexual or fornicator,cussing in some parts,choices to steal or rob,etc.

Needless to say,I don’t drink in the game,I don’t get my character addicted to the drugs,and when I accidentally do,I use a chemical that removes addictions,and I never steal or partake in sexual immorality.I even downloaded a mod that allows you to marry a companion of your choice.

I’m just curious as to what a Christian perspective on this matter would be.I don’t want to be playing a game that God doesn’t approve of.In the Fallout game I’m playing,but avoiding because of conscience warnings,FALLOUT 4,I’ve allied with the kindest and most supportive faction called the minutemen who aim to support and help people of the wasteland and fight for democracy and justice.

Ignatius the Kiwi

Dissident
Mar 2, 2013
✟291,213.00
Country
New Zealand
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Single