How does God talk to people?

Aug 23, 2011
✟15,164.00
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Single
Okay. These might be some of the stupidest questions you have seen in a while but I am still pretty new to the faith so please bear with me. What I understand is that God works in His people through the Holy Spirit. Am I correct?

I really don't care about the destiny vs free will debate. As far as I am concerned it is a non-issue. But there's something else that I was wondering about. What about self-doubt/lack of confidence and the various sins etc.? Who is working through us in those cases?

I have no idea if my questions made any sense but I would like to know the answers. :)

PaladinValer

Traditional Orthodox Anglican
Apr 7, 2004
Myrtle Beach, SC
✟30,305.00
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Others
God is speaking to us all the time. It takes discernment however to understand when it is God talking and also what He is telling us.

Furthermore, this is vital to know: God doesn't need to speak through just miracles. He speaks through secular means constantly. Again, we need discernment.

Reactions: Mediakira
Upvote 0

Begonias

Sep 7, 2011
✟156.00
Faith
Anglican
Thank you both. Then where do our tendencies to make mistakes and commit sins come from? Is it completely separate from anything otherworldly/spiritual/religious/mystical?

We live in a fallen world.

We have a sinful nature. We are always in conflict with following the ways of the world and the ways of Christ (flesh vs spirit).

Upvote 0

Begonias

Sep 7, 2011
✟156.00
Faith
Anglican
Different people have different ideas as to the magnitude and power of Satan. It's important not to get things out of proportion, as this limits the power of the cross and resurrection.

If you are a new Christian, you may be under spiritual attack as there is nothing Satan hates more than people giving themselves to Christ.

Read the scriptures on the Armour of God as this will help and encourage you to resist evil.