✟8,089.00
Faith
Oriental Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Others
Hi,
I've been studying Orthodox Christianity for almost 6 years and attending a parish for 2, and considering myself "Orthodox" for about 4, although my baptism and 1st communion were Roman, and I went to an evangelical church for most of my adolescence. I have not been in months due to some issues, personal and church-related. I came to the Church to be chrismated, learn, and worship. I felt like an outsider, since the rest of the OCA church were either cradle-Orthodox or Orthodox-by-marital-necessity. I'm sure the social phobia and associated avoidance don't help. In any case, it's hard to "learn the faith" when I'm the only one who has had to do it, to be chrismated when the priest deems me a mere observer, and to discern authentic Orthodox worship from ingrained cultural identities.

Long story short, I am looking for a parish where I can be a better catechumen in the DC area (anywhere within an hours drive). I'd really appreciate: a spiritual father or priest who is a convert, outreach to parishioners with mental health or substance abuse problems, more formal catechism classes, or somewhere I'm not regarded as a suspicious, church-shopping, ignorant, Scots-Irish "observer."

Thanks for any help, and just for listening.

Dorothea

One of God's handmaidens
Jul 10, 2007
Colorado Springs, Colorado
✟240,539.00
Country
United States
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Others
Hi, Medicinehead. Welcome to TAW. So, you are looking for an Eastern Orthodox Church in the D.C. area? Well, I am looking around, and I'll post churches in the area, but I'm not sure how far they are from you, and if they will work, but you can always give them a try and see how it goes.

Here's all the Orthodox Churches in the surrounding area on one website: