Florida panhandle, USA
✟922,775.00
Country
United States
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
I am not good with names. I wonder if it is the same woman I read about a couple of days ago. The details were all the same, except that story mentioned that she had another child, who was in jail with her, and she was supposed to be executed after the birth of her baby.

Lord have mercy, indeed.

Upvote 0

buzuxi02

Veteran
May 14, 2006
New York
✟212,454.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
I am not good with names. I wonder if it is the same woman I read about a couple of days ago. The details were all the same, except that story mentioned that she had another child, who was in jail with her, and she was supposed to be executed after the birth of her baby.

Lord have mercy, indeed.

Yes, this is the same woman. Amnesty international reports she is in detention nursing her 20 month old and that she is pregnant with her second child. According to BBC her mother was Orthodox married to a muslim. But her father was absentee and was raised in the Orthodox Faith. She then married a christian man. It seems that there maybe 2 charges. One for apostacy in not continuing in her father's religion and for adultery by marrying a non-muslim.

from the BBC report:

The judge also sentenced the woman to 100 lashes after convicting her of adultery - because her marriage to a Christian man was not valid under Islamic law.

This will reportedly be carried out when she has recovered from giving birth.

Earlier in the hearing, an Islamic cleric spoke with her in a caged dock for about 30 minutes, AFP reports.
Then she calmly told the judge: "I am a Christian and I never committed apostasy."

Upvote 0
This site stays free and accessible to all because of donations from people like you.
Consider making a one-time or monthly donation. We appreciate your support!
- Dan Doughty and Team Christian Forums

Evangelos

Dec 18, 2011
✟15,282.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status