Why do unbelievers ask a pastor to do a funeral and then tell him not to mention Jesus?

JustRachel

He welcomed me back! <3
Site Supporter
Aug 12, 2007
Right here
✟325,928.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
Our pastor is asked to officiate many funerals and many of those are non-believers. They tell him not to mention Jesus at all. Of course, he always will find a way to bring up eternal salvation. :) Why do they even ask a pastor to perform the ritual? Seems like anyone could do this. My thought is that even the unsaved have some thought of and perhaps some desire for God no matter how much they object to hearing about him aloud.

What do you think?

• Agree
Reactions: Nige55

com7fy8

May 22, 2013
Massachusetts
✟586,258.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
I wouldn't do it. I would use the time to talk with them, but I would advise them that I am a pastor and I must honor Jesus.

By the way . . . the person who died might want Jesus to be named, and I would say the unbeliever has no right to dishonor what the passed person wants. Possibly, I would offer the unbeliever an opportunity to leave before I preached. But there can be prayer even right at the beginning; so it might not be possible for the unbeliever to be there only when Jesus is not mentioned.

So, even so, I would not try to control what the unbeliever does, even if the person had power to control the funeral of someone in my church. I do not feel it is my responsibility to control people of Satan's kingdom.

I am pretty sure it is reasonable that an unbeliever usually does not speak for everyone in that person's family, and often not for the one who died.

But in case a passed person is funeralized by an unbeliever, I can have a memorial service attended by my church's members, and the family and friends can be invited, and that unbeliever can boycott the memorial service. I don't have to control that.

Upvote 0

HTacianas