LadyShea

Humanist
Aug 29, 2002
Nevada
Visit site
✟1,749.00
Faith
Atheist
I thought we could do a little experiment with "kinds". First though, we need a good working definition of "kind". Could a YEC that believes there are barriers within kinds that cannot be crossed please provide your best definition of how an animal is classifed? Is it by appearance, mating, other characteristics?

judy

Veteran
Nov 6, 2002
Augusta, Maine, USA
Visit site
✟9,736.00
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Married
Well let's see. On Noah's ark, all the kinds must have been represented. So I imagine there is the "kitty cat" kind, the "horsey" kind, the "doggy" kind and the "birdy" kind.

Maybe the "icky scaley" kind and the "bug" kind too.

From these, all the species we know today evolved by micro-evolution!

It's really very simply, ladyshea.

Upvote 0

LadyShea

Humanist
Aug 29, 2002
Nevada
Visit site
✟1,749.00
Faith
Atheist
I started playing this game with Follower of Christ with this picture

rep04.jpg

And he guessed "Snake kind". Since this is a species of legless Lizard and not a snake, I was hoping a creationist could tell me what makes one animal a "snake kind" and one animal a "lizard kind" and what do we do with animals that seem to have characteristics of two different kinds?

I have several more examples of these "what the heck is that" animals and I think this could be an interesting demonstration for both sides.

And Judy...ROTFL...that sounds like my 4 yr old niece playing with her Noah's Ark bathtub toys

Upvote 0

Pete Harcoff

PeteAce - In memory of WinAce
Jun 30, 2002
✟9,874.00
Faith
Other Religion
I'd like to present a picture I made up for a discussion of "macroevolution" versus "microevolution" awhile back:

http://www.animecritic.com/_temp/cats.jpg

It's picture of 9 different members of the Felidae (cat) family. They're all separate species showing incredible diversity, but are all "cats" in the sense that they share a number of "cat" characteristics.