kentucky
✟24,423.00
Country
United States
Faith
Pentecostal
Marital Status
Married
Hello: my family has been having informal Bible studies once a week. we just get together and pray, then read two or three chapters. because i have read the Bible more and longer than anyone in the group, i am more or less the "teacher". Next week, we are going to begin a study of the Gospel of John and i am studying up on it.

i realized that i simply do not have a very good understanding of the meaning (or meanings) of what is communicated by the phrase "the Word". so my post is simply, "What have you learned about this?"

all thoughts are welcome, and i thank you in advance.

tturt

Senior Veteran
Site Supporter
Oct 30, 2006
✟795,460.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
"And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth." John 1:14

"And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of God." Rev 19

The Bible - both of Old and New Testament "All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:" II TIM

"And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God." Luk 4:4 In this Scripture, bread has different meaning "And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst." Joh 6

"For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart." Heb 4:12

"Every word of God is pure: he is a shield unto them that put their trust in him." Pro 30

"then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God." Rom