What Authority is left if Emotions and Science Can't be Trusted?

mkgal1

His perfect way sets me free. 2 Samuel 22:33
Site Supporter
Jun 22, 2007
California
✟551,233.00
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Married
After reading the typical statement made by those that hold to the complementarian theology that "God is a God of order"...I had gone on a search of images in nature that show a repeated pattern. This seems to be that common and repeated pattern we see in creation:

upload_2017-4-9_12-1-29.jpeg

I'm not a scientist (nor did I even take geometry in school --I opted for more algebra instead)....but this is so fascinating to me (and it also seems to give us a small insight into God's "order" in creation, if we want to make that claim at all).

Then I got to thinking....another characteristic of those that follow comp theology is that they seem to have a disdain for science, so what's left? They dismiss or demonize emotions ("the heart is deceitful above all things...and desperately wicked") AND have contempt for science. So....what's left? It seems the only authority they teach can be trusted in those that are in their small group. Truth should be the same truth no matter where it's found (like the golden ratio)....we should see a pattern (but they seem to cut off other options to even look!).

Thoughts?

Reactions: Saint Beloved

mkgal1

Site Supporter
Jun 22, 2007
California
✟551,233.00
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Married
This is another example of the type of warnings that are given when looking at this, "Applying religion to math or vise versa is mystification.".....as was given here: https://www.goldennumber.net/theology/

......but if "mystification" is defined as Richard Rohr explains (below)....then why is that such a "scary" thing?

Richard Rohr said: