Visit site
✟21,824.00
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
A bit of rambling, so I apologize in advance.

My wife and I have been talking lately about how difficult it is to watch our adult son go skipping merrily toward disaster and we are powerless to do a thing about it. When he was small, we had authority over him. We don't have that now, and have been reduced to the position of offering advice to a 20-year-old who is still young enough to think he knows everything.

My wife and I were reminded of how powerless we are to protect our kid from harm when he called the other day and announced he is coming home for a few days next month to ask his high school girlfriend to marry him (he is in the Navy and is coming home on leave). I'll not go into too much detail, but my wife and I have disliked the girl since the day she was introduced to us. I'm a lawyer who sees divorce in the cards for my kid if he marries that girl, whereas my wife views the girl as a spoiled brat and dingbat who is primarily looking for someone to support her while she does next to nothing.

At any rate, I am curious as to how people with adult children deal with the heartache of being able to do absolutely nothing as their kids make terrible decisions that will result in misery. I know we're supposed to be able to let go and let our kids find their own ways in the world, but that is easier said than done.

Humble me Lord

Site Supporter
Apr 17, 2017
The far north icebox
✟190,331.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married