Sep 30, 2005
floating in the ether, never been happier
Visit site
✟33,648.00
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Private
I'm a district nurse, and this week was in the position of having to lie to protect a patient from violence

Now I know that the bible says 'thou shall not lie' however I have a bigger problem when tellng the truth means someone could be put at risk

Thoughts

Reactions: psalms 91

murjahel

Senior Veteran
Oct 31, 2005
✟29,367.00
Faith
Pentecostal
Marital Status
Married
the fact right now is there is a 'lie'... so that needs repented...

the Lord is forgiving, and restores His fellowship and blessings with ease...

the second issue is what should you have done, how could you have been truthful or silent...

we do not know enough to help much on that... because....
if it were something like a 'boyfriend visited another man's wife, and you lied to protect her from her wrong, when the husband asked you if the boyfriend had been in.... well, that kind of scenario would bring a different answer than some scenarios...

if you lied about a medical condition to a patient, you could have said... I am not the doctor, I only follow orders, I do not diagnose, please ask your doctor for that information...

so.. different scenarios require different procedures to avoid lies..

in this world of lies, it is wise to come up with some ways to avoid the temptation to tell the 'easier' lie, than the harder truth... Sometimes, saying nothing is the best way....

when asked how you like someone's hideous dress, it is sometimes necessary to say, 'that color is unique'... and avoid the 'laughter' you might have given... it avoids the lie, but never truly answers the question that might have hurt feelings...

Upvote 0

Messy

Jan 30, 2011
Holland
✟21,082.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
I'm a district nurse, and this week was in the position of having to lie to protect a patient from violence