Country
United States
Faith
Episcopalian
Marital Status
Engaged
Politics
US-Democrat
I am supposed to go back to my job as an EMT on Monday after being in self quarantine for the last two weeks due to likely exposure to covid-19. I am scared to go back due to my moderate to severe asthma.

If I were to contract this illness in full, it would likely put me in the hospital in the ICU because of my asthma. With being an EMT, I am at high risk of coming into contact with it again. I didn't get it last time, but I may not be so lucky the next time.

I was looking through the FAQs of my states unemployment and it says that you can leave a job voluntarily, but it has to be through no fault of your own. I would think that my asthma which isn't my fault and covid-19 which isn't my fault would qualify me, as through no fault, but I just don't know. I would have to quit and file to know for sure.

There is also this from the federal government, bolding is mine:

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) update: The federal government is allowing new options for states to amend their laws to provide unemployment insurance benefits related to COVID-19. For example, federal law allows states to pay benefits where:

• An employer temporarily ceases operations due to COVID-19, preventing employees from coming to work;
  • An individual is quarantined with the expectation of returning to work after the quarantine is over; and
  • An individual leaves employment due to a risk of exposure or infection or to care for a family member.
So there is that as well.