Boyertown, PA.
✟768,605.00
Country
United States
Faith
Oriental Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
Many years ago (the early 1990s) I first studied about spiritual gifts from reading books at the Christian book store, and watching shows on TV, like Marilyn Hickey on TBN. I thought what was said was interesting, but I soon had some doubts about some of it, the biggest area was the notion of prophesy as being a "motivational gift". I can see some gifts like teaching, mercy, exhortation etc. being tied into with personality, but I had my doubts on this one. A few years later, when I got a Concordance I studied the Lexicon words and checked it out and I could see absolutely nothing in the actual Greek and Hebrew words for prophesy other than it describing a person literally speaking a "thus sayeth the Lord" type message or a person acting as a seer having visions etc. of future events, heavenly realities and so on.

But anyways, here's an example of what I'm talking about.

Prophecy
A person with the motivational gift of prophecy applies the Word of God to a situation so that sin is exposed and relationships are restored. He or she has a strong sense of right and wrong and speaks out against compromise and evil.

• Biblical Example
    The Apostle Peter played a significant role in the establishment of the early Church. Through his preaching, ministry, and writing, Peter encouraged men and women to believe in Christ, repent, and live according to the truth of God’s Word. “Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord” (Acts 3:19).
What are the seven motivational gifts?

Anyway I tend to believe this teaching is a legacy of people rationalizing the gift of prophesy in Protestant circles prior to the Pentecostal and Charismatic movement.

Last edited:

Presbyterian Continuist

Senior Veteran
Site Supporter
Mar 28, 2005
Christchurch New Zealand
Visit site
✟832,604.00
Country