Should I feel guilty for being a Christian and yet hating CCM?

ElizabethGould

Bassist
Sep 17, 2011
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
✟7,682.00
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Single
Politics
UK-Conservative
Seriously, no matter what I do, I simply cannot find a modern Christian band I actually like.

I used to be a worship musician and whilst I loved the more traditional stuff and stuff like Hillsong or Chris Tomlin, when it came to doing stuff like Skillet (for example) I used to detest it.

I don't even know what it is about CCM which turns me off, but it's frustrating because in my mind I'm 'supposed' to like it.

Seriously, why do I feel guilty?

NiobiumTragedy

Glorious Tragedy
Jun 15, 2009
USA
✟17,652.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
Nothing wrong with disliking a style of music. There is actually very little Christian music I can stand to listen to because it's more often than not poorly written/produced. Right now the only stuff I listen to that fits in the Christian market is Skillet and Red.

Maybe that will change when these artists start writing better music.

Upvote 0

ElizabethGould

Bassist
Sep 17, 2011
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
✟7,682.00
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Single
Politics
UK-Conservative
I think a lot of it is to do with production, but also I think a lot of it is to do with the cheesy lyrics and usually fairly poor backing music. Seriously, I listen to some music and think 'are four note basslines and three-chord melodies all you can do?''

Upvote 0

Vambram

Born-again Christian; Constitutional conservative
Dec 3, 2006
Saint James, Missouri
✟63,978.00
Country
United States
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
I think a lot of it is to do with production, but also I think a lot of it is to do with the cheesy lyrics and usually fairly poor backing music. Seriously, I listen to some music and think 'are four note basslines and three-chord melodies all you can do?''