the_malevolent_milk_man

Jul 27, 2003
Apopka, Florida
✟4,185.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Single
Back in the day there's no doubt that religion was king. Not till the renaissance was science much more than a curiosity. Science didn't even catch on with the average person until the 1900's, and to what degree is debatable. It's come a long way but it's still not as influential as religion, at least in america.

Upvote 0

Mike Flynn

Sep 19, 2003
✟2,069.00
Faith
Christian
Jon said:
Compare the importance of science and religion in the world today to 1500. Which one dominant? Why do you think this is so?

I'm no history expert...so take some of this with a grain of salt. I will refer to western (European) society since that is the history I am most familiar with:
------------------
1500:

Renaissance was well under way. This was significant for several reasons but probably the most relavent point for this thread:
-people were beginning to 'revolt' against the intellectual sterility of the middle ages. Just a few hundred years prior to this there were very few schools (for lack of a better term), literacy was nil except among the monks, etc. Books and literature were lost (in a period called the 'dark ages').

The Renaissance was also characterized by (among other things) building libraries, recovering and copying manuscripts of lost authors, etc. A zeal for study was evident. The environment was ripe for fresh ideas.

Enter Copernicus: The prevailing universe model was geocentric (earth-centered). The idea of a heliocentric solar system (sun-centered) was not new, but renaissance sensibilities made it more palatable. He was followed by the likes of Brahe, Kepler, Galileo, and Isaac Newton (within the space of 150 years).