Jul 31, 2016
Oklahoma, USA
✟9,593.00
Faith
Christian Seeker
Marital Status
Single
Blessings to all!

I have posted in this forum once before, but I return for more! For those who don't know, I'm a student of philosophy and theology that's examining Orthodoxy and searching for truth.

From my understanding, the Orthodox Church tends to be very mystical with most tradition and theology. Unlike how the West developed many types of systematic theology, the East left much room for mysticism in their theology (the good kind, from what I tell!).

My problem is that I was born non-denominational, but went Reformed because of the intellectual side of faith. It seems essential to me to understand something (at least vaguely) before one can come to accept it. And, as my love of philosophy may betray, I'm a very analytical individual, and so my perspectives on theology and faith have largely been based on "what makes sense".

However, it's difficult for me to understand Orthodoxy because there are not (as far as I can tell) any world-class theologians that hail from the East. Catholics have Augustine, Aquinas, etc. while Protestants have Calvin, Luther, Edwards, Wesley, and all the rest. Even Anglicans have N.T. Wright, among others.

I just had a couple questions about all this. Why are Orthodox, for the most part, practically unheard of? And are there any resources I could access that would help me get a comprehensive understanding of the Orthodox tradition? Obviously I don't suspect one could "fully" grasp it without participation in liturgy and worship and soforth, but is there some sort of academic basis I might be able to start on so I can wrap my head around it all?

Many thanks to all who respond!

Jesus4Madrid

Orthodox Christian
Jul 21, 2011
✟90,072.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Libertarian