Visit site
✟12,170.00
Country
New Zealand
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Single
So I've been attending a Reformed church for almost the last 4 years and have come to understand a bit of Reformed theology. However, last Saturday I visited a Lutheran church on vacation and really liked it, even though the pastor was sick and there wasn't Communion. Being a former traditionalist Roman Catholic, I am definitely drawn to the external elements, and I also like a church that follows the Church Year.

I have read a bit about Lutheran theology (although I intend to read the Book of Concord and Mueller's Christian Dogmatics) and I have some questions about it.

Is it true that Lutherans believe that a born-again, regenerate believer in Christ can lose their salvation? How does that work? What about Christ's promise that no-one can snatch His sheep out of His and His Father's hand (John 10:27-29)? And how does that tie in with 1 John 5:13 and knowing that one has eternal life?

Thanks in advance for the replies!

Reactions: KevinC1129

ViaCrucis

Confessional Lutheran
Oct 2, 2011
Pacific Northwest
✟732,154.00
Country
United States
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
In Relationship
Politics
US-Others
So I've been attending a Reformed church for almost the last 4 years and have come to understand a bit of Reformed theology. However, last Saturday I visited a Lutheran church on vacation and really liked it, even though the pastor was sick and there wasn't Communion. Being a former traditionalist Roman Catholic, I am definitely drawn to the external elements, and I also like a church that follows the Church Year.

I have read a bit about Lutheran theology (although I intend to read the Book of Concord and Mueller's Christian Dogmatics) and I have some questions about it.