Contributor
Nov 8, 2003
Ohio
✟122,293.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
I'm not even sure if I am allowed to ask this question, I couldn't find specific rules for this thread and it's my first time posting here.

I have been writing for a few years now, have gotten some great compliments including but not limited to our pastor saying God has gifted me to write. An old friend saying it was the best writing he has read in a long time. So, I have just been storing stories away knowing how hard it is to get noticed in the business. Our children eventually convinced me to give it a go. So we published a mystery novel (first in series) on Amazon. What I was wondering is if any of you all have any ideas for how to get it out there and looked at?

razzelflabben

Contributor
Nov 8, 2003
Ohio
✟122,293.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
What do you mean by looked at? Do you just need promotional ideas?
The way I figure it, if people read it, they decide if it is good or not. But I can't seem to get people to read it. Our son took a few to school to have his friends and teacher read it, he then told me, "mom, I don't think you get how much they love the book"....so I guess the question is promotional ideas so that people get a feel for what I am doing, it isn't your typical mystery, but it is interesting if I do say so myself.

Upvote 0

SepiaAndDust

There's a FISH in the percolator
May 6, 2012
Mid-America
✟26,546.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
In Relationship
I'd hire a marketing firm. Other than that, I have no idea. Most of the resources for self-marketing that I've seen recommend giving your book away for free or selling it on the cheap, but that kinda defeats the purpose of being a professional writer.

You might make a teaser (the first chapter or two) and give that away for free, but that just brings you back to square one--how will you let people know about the free teaser? Again, no idea. Sorry.