United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
Politics
US-Libertarian
Hello!

I'm not Adventist, but I have had some experiences with them in the past. I once attended an SDA school and occasionally attended their church.

I find myself agreeing with a lot of Seventh Day Adventism. I think they got a lot of things right, but there are a few concerns about some of their doctrines concern me, so I figured I'd look around here.

I agree with the traditional bunch on the Saturday Sabbath. I don't see it as necessary for salvation and there is nothing wrong with worshiping on a Sunday, I just haven't see any good biblical reasons conclude that the sabbath has been moved or nullified.

I think they also make good points about Jesus and Archangel Michael being the same person. I am indifferent, but I don't think it is a heretical view.

Ben Carson's run for president reignited my interest in Adventism.

The biggest concern I have with the traditional Adventists is annihilationism. I'm open to the possibility of soul sleep in the sense that I don't believe people immediately go to the afterlife after death, but I believe that suffering in hell will be a permanent reality for the wicked. There is strong biblical support for annihilationism imo, but I think the traditional Christian view has slightly stronger support. Either way, I see both sides.

I'm also not a young earth creationist, but Idc what view a church leans towards as long as it does not take a dogmatic stance.

I believe the restoration of Israel is part of biblical prophecy and is of eschatological significance, another issue where I depart from the traditionalists on. However, I'm open to any eschatological view or millennial view as long as it allows a place for national Israel and does not promote replacement theology.

Are there any of you in the progressive group that has similar feelings or views?

Is there an Adventist denomination you can recommend.

BobRyan

Angels Team
Site Supporter