Gamer and mathematician
Feb 27, 2012
Sweden - Umeå
✟17,952.00
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Engaged
Plant cell and animal cell are in two Kingdoms (?).

Is there any effort which tried to convert one into another? Why is it so difficult? Is it theoretically impossible?
I think it is possible, but not now. The cells are fundamentally different. I'll try to find some good pictures.

Edit:
Can't paste the pictures (they won't show). But here's two pictures of each cell type:

http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/animals/cell/anatomy.GIF

http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/plants/cell/anatomy.GIF

Some differences are:
Plant cells have a cell wall that will prevent the cell from exploding when put in extreme habitats.
Plant cells have chloroplasts.

(I've just picked this up in biology class, I'm by no means an expert)

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Naraoia

Apprentice Biologist
Sep 30, 2007
On edge
Visit site
✟15,998.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Single

Is there any effort which tried to convert one into another? Why is it so difficult? Is it theoretically impossible?
Not sure the first question even makes sense to me. What do you mean by convert one into another? You could take an animal cell, suck out its nucleus, insert a nucleus and a chloroplast from a plant cell and hope it works. Or you could inject some genes to reprogram one into something like the other, like you can reprogram all sorts of cells into stem cells (you'd still have to add a chloroplast). Or something else, I don't know, and not sure what the point would be either way. What did you mean by "convert"?

As to the other two questions: the second assumes that it is difficult. Probably a reasonable assumption, but still a bad question... The third depends on what you mean by "convert one into another".

I think it is possible, but not now. The cells are fundamentally different. I'll try to find some good pictures.

Edit: