Jan 12, 2006
Georgia, USA
✟20,938.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
Is there any out there?

The first time I heard an english Liturgy I immediately thought of the old-timey lined-out singing in the backwoods churches. Everyone in my parish thinks I am nuts, but that is ok. ^_^

I'm not looking to have banjos and fiddles in the Liturgy, but merely something for my own musical enjoyment. I've been threatening to do it for 3 years now, but I swear one of these days I am going to get some folks together and do a hymn or two.

ClementofRome

Spelunking the most ancient caves of Xianity
May 27, 2004
✟5,769.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
Your old Uncle Clem here...

Bluegrass finds its roots in Appalachian Mountain folk music with also finds its home in Scotch-Irish Protestantism. The lyrics are not necessarily "unOrthodox" and in fact, Orthodox Christianity would love the lyrics of some of the old time gospel bluegrass.

Not, the melodies do not find their origins in Greek or Slavic or Arabic homes....but is not our Orthodoxy transcendent of these ethnic homes?

My band was named (now we have seperated for many reasons) "Ploughshare" as in "they will beat their swords into ploughshares
(Isaiah). I was the only member of the band that was Orthodox, but all Christians. We sang music that I considered to be Orthodox for the most part where the Gospel is concerned.

Glory to God.

I am bandless at present.

Bluegrass is a fine music tradition that finds it roots in Christ's Gospel.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

cobweb

Cranky octogenarian at heart
Jan 12, 2006
Georgia, USA
✟20,938.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
Your old Uncle Clem here...

Bluegrass finds its roots in Appalachian Mountain folk music with also finds its home in Scotch-Irish Protestantism. The lyrics are not necessarily "unOrthodox" and in fact, Orthodox Christianity would love the lyrics of some of the old time gospel bluegrass.