Not sure where to go from here, LD guy friend of 3 years and serious feelings for him.

pinkjess

There she goes...at the speed of sound
Feb 24, 2009
✟85,038.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Celibate
So I've been talking to a guy I met online for the past three years. We've done video chats, talked on the phone, texted for hours--I really, really like him. He makes me feel safe and understood. He's not perfect, but he has been a really good friend to me these past couple of years. I know you don't really know a person until you meet them, but so far I can say I really like this guy. I thank God He let him be a part of my life because he has helped through a lot of stuff.

We were going to meet this year but COVID kind of ruined our plans. It's just not safe getting on a plane right now in my opinion (I'm in Texas, he is in North Carolina.) He still wants to come visit me sometime in September though. The original plan was he was going to come here for three days and then we both go back to NC and then I come back home.

The problem I am having is, this was never my plan for my life. I always believed God wanted me to be single so I could focus on ministry and helping others. I guess in a way that was something I told myself so I could hide behind my "wall". I had a very skewed view of sexuality and I suppose lumping it all together with the belief I was meant to be celibate helped me not have to deal with it. I didn't have to think about it.

Getting to know this guy and talking to him for three years really opened a Pandora box of feelings and stuff I never knew was inside of me. Like the desire to have a family or, dare I say it, intimacy. All of that stuff was for weak Christians who can't focus on God enough, I always told myself. Stamping the label "celibate" on my forehead made me feel strong and godly. I guess God shattered all of that by bringing this guy into my life, or at least, paving the path I took that led me to him.