Puyallup
✟9,181.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Hey there! I've been a Christian for 25 years, and have learned a few things along the way. I am by no means an expert and would never claim that the knowledge/wisdom I have came from me - it's straight from the Bible and revelation of the Holy Spirit. This will be my first mini-essay on stuff that new believers need to know.

GUILT and SHAME

Many new believers, and not so new believers, struggle with guilt and shame. They do something sinful and it eats them up inside. You need to know that this is not now, nor has it ever, been God's desire. This is honestly one of the strategies of the enemy to derail your progress, get you distracted, and keep you from being used effectively by God.

Think about it - can you change anything you've done? Can you go back and undo anything? Take back words you said? Nope. You can make amends with people you've wronged, but you can't undo anything.

Satan is always focused on the past. He's focused on his own past, furious for being ejected from Heaven for his wrong, and wanting to take down as many of God's children as he can. He also will do everything he can to keep you focused on your own past. He wants you focused on your past sins, mistakes & regrets, and he also wants you focused on wrongs that have been done to you. None of this you can change - all the guilt in the world won't change one thing about any of it. The enemy's voice in these situations is condemnation.

Does God want us to feel guilty? No, and here are some reason why I say this. Jesus told a number of parables that relate to people losing their way or getting off track. The parable of the lost sheep is in Matthew 18:12-14 and the parable of the prodigal son is in Luke 15:11–32. If guilt and shame are things you struggle with, I encourage you to read and pray through these.