Can You Exercise on the Sabbath? Is It OK to Workout?

bkimberli

Aug 18, 2006
✟7,661.00
Faith
SDA
Marital Status
Married
I am new to the church, about two years or so now, and I am just starting to wonder about the health message and exercising and taking care of our bodies. I have never exercised on the Sabbath only because I thought of it as not resting, but then if it is a part of taking care of our bodies and just being healthy I was just wondering if you guys could help me have more insight into this. Just was curious and thought this would be a good place to ask :) Thanks for your answers in advance!

Kim

Reactions: mva1985

mva1985

Senior Veteran
Jun 18, 2007
Ohio
Visit site
✟19,628.00
Faith
SDA
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Republican
I am new to the church, about two years or so now, and I am just starting to wonder about the health message and exercising and taking care of our bodies. I have never exercised on the Sabbath only because I thought of it as not resting, but then if it is a part of taking care of our bodies and just being healthy I was just wondering if you guys could help me have more insight into this. Just was curious and thought this would be a good place to ask :) Thanks for your answers in advance!

Kim
Kim,

This is a great question. I for one do not believe in exercising on the Sabbath just for the sake of exercising. If that is something I am going to do I feel I should make time during the week for that.

I certainly see no harm in getting out on the Sabbath and enjoying nature and getting fresh air, with good company.

Just my two cents.

Upvote 0

thecountrydoc

Senior Veteran
Site Supporter
Nov 29, 2006
San Marcos, CA
✟48,164.00
Faith
SDA
Marital Status
Married
Hi Kim,

Welcome!!! And thanks for a very good question. For the moment may I presume that by excersise you mean something more than a leasurly stroll? If you are refering a preplaned regimen of excersise that must be considered another matter.