Michael Grant, the truth about him

Habsburg

Mar 3, 2004
San Antonio, Texas
✟199.00
Faith
Catholic
Greetings,

I am a University student who is a History major. I am planning to go into Greco-Roman history.

I have heard to following about Michael Grant, a famous author of aound 30 books on ancient Greece and Rome, he has also written about other topics.

There are the claims from a Amer. Hist. professor I have:

~Michael Grant is *not a trained historian*, he has a Ph.D. in engineering, a totally different subject!

~He has written more popular rather than scholarly books.

~He mostly uses secondary sources (not primary) for the information in his books.

I would prefere information from someone that has at least some scholarly experience reading/studying history, please.

God Bless,

Habsburg

one love

Dec 17, 2003
clear lake tx
Visit site
✟1,475.00
Faith
Atheist
Politics
US-Republican
IF he has written 30 books he must know quite a bit and be revered. After all, Quentin Tarintino was a video clerk before he became a blockbuster movie director. Other than Rise and Fall I can't really recommend much else, maybe a few online PBS sources, they always do good documentaries.

Upvote 0

Habsburg

Mar 3, 2004
San Antonio, Texas
✟199.00
Faith
Catholic
one love,

True, Barbara Tuchman who is famous (I know of 2 of her books, one we are using next semester in my Intell. Comm. course) was, I believe a MA, not a Ph.D. Historian She won prizes left and right.

Robert Rodriguez and Kevin Smith both have a similar past to Tarintino, I believe. You know coming from a non-trained background, but never the less having tremendous skills!

Sinc.

Cas.

Upvote 0

Linda Lutgens

Aug 26, 2019
Oakland
✟7,902.00
Country
United States
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Divorced
Greetings,

I am a University student who is a History major. I am planning to go into Greco-Roman history.