Looking for a community for encouragement and discussion

gafpromise

Oct 27, 2012
✟15,648.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Hi, newbie here and overwhelmed by the multitudes of topics! Sometimes I don't feel like a real Christian and I have trouble finding a place where I fit in. Let me know if any of this sounds familiar to you and if you know of any profitable discussion groups and resources for encouragement, articles, and in-depth discussion of the Christian walk.

1. About me: I'm in the USA and was raised Evangelical but interested in moving away from that.
  2. I believe in taking the Bible seriously without necessarily taking it literally, and in fact in some contexts, taking the text literally is precisely NOT how it was meant to be interpreted. But I give the Bible the benefit of the doubt and I believe it is divinely inspired.
  3. I am a traditionalist regarding sexuality; but also I believe strongly that it is not my place to be militant or judge the way someone is living their life. There are many people who both claim to be Christian, and have non-traditional views of gender, so who am I to say that their faith is not sincere or that they need to be convicted? Only the Lord knows their heart.
  4. I am deeply uncomfortable with the entanglement of politics with church, on both sides of the political spectrum. You should not have to subscribe to a particular political viewpoint to feel welcome at church. The church should preach the Bible from the pulpit as a general rule, not become a vehicle for the pastor's pet topics.