Is technology slowly making us less human?

May 22, 2021
Spring Hill
✟7,922.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
To be human is to be made in the likeness of God.
To be human is to be imperfect.
God is perfect, which is why we are made in His likeness .. not in His exactness.

As technology begins to make our lives more convenient, do you think we are slowly drifting further from the likeness of God as humans?

For example, humans gets their hands dirty. We toil in the earth. We labor until a seedling turns into a crop we can harvest and finally eat.

The day is coming (and is actually already here) where robots manage most of the sowing and harvesting for us. All we have to do now is write the software to manage the robots.

Little by little, things we humans used to do are becoming automated for us. As a software engineer myself, I see this on a daily basis.

I feel my soul is pulling me away from my profession. I feel my profession wants me to be systematic, automated, and perfect while my soul wants me to be artistic, organic, and emotional.

Do any of you feel that it is becoming increasingly difficult to become in tune with our heavenly Father as technology continues to bring everyday conveniences to our fingertips?

Perhaps this is why people step away every once in a while and go camping out in the woods or go fishing or boating or surfing. Our humanity craves that nature that our Father created, while our world tells us to sit on the couch and get plugged in.

Sure, you can study your Bible from your cell phone. But so can you with an old-fashioned book, pencil, and paper. There's just something about the feel of a book, the smell of the pages, the tactile nature of writing notes by hand that cannot be replaced by scrolling my thumb on my cell phone screen.

timothyu

Dec 31, 2018
up there
✟306,520.00
Country
Canada
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Private