Is God omnipotent and controls everything?

Is God omnipotent?

• Yes, God has power over everything and controls everything.

Votes: 18 41.9%
  • Yes, God has power over everything but doesn't control everything.

Votes: 23 53.5%
  • No, God doesn't have power over everything.

Votes: 2 4.7%

• Total voters

zoidar

loves Jesus the Christ! ✝️
Site Supporter
Sep 18, 2010
✟883,228.00
Country
Sweden
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
I have started this thread to show that all Christians believe God is omnipotent. Christians just have a different view of what omnipotens means.

We'll see what the poll says.

New thread, trying to pinpoint my question.

• Useful
Reactions: Dahlia Grace

Dahlia Grace

Nov 17, 2020
Phoenix, AZ
✟8,089.00
Country
United States
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Libertarian
I studied this briefly in a theological course.
Yes, God is most likely omnipotent. However, even if He has the potential to do anything, it doesn't mean he would. The beauty of Creation is Free Will, and if God was to assert control over everything, humans wouldn't have the ability to choose their own paths.
If God had the ability to do anything, He would've prevented the original sin. The original sin is, as I see it, the ultimate first test of free will. Without free will, there would be no grounds for evil- as God is only good. If there is no evil, there is nothing to compare goodness to and there is no way for humans to live lives that improve and grow. There would be no ultimate incentive to learn goodness through God if everything was peachy.

This is a very big theological question with a lot of different stances, so I'd be interested in hearing what other people have to say.

Upvote 0

Jeshu

Bought by His Blood
Site Supporter
Mar 25, 2005
One of the Greatest Places on Earth.
✟600,188.00
Country
Australia
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
i cannot vote as an rightful option is not available.