Intimate communion with God, what does that mean?

Abide with me.

Jan 8, 2021
Norfolk
✟40,976.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
What do you pray about for extended periods of time?
When I pray it's usually no longer than for a few minutes and fairly simple, but I watched a documentary about Benedictine nuns praying for hours silently, does anyone else do that? What goes on in your head?
They talk about an intimate communion with God and being a bride of Christ, I have an intimate communion with my husband occasionally.. but what do the nuns mean by that?
I'm new to christianity and am totally open to asking God into my life, but I have never felt an intimate communion with God, what does that mean?

Akita Suggagaki

Jul 20, 2018
Midwest
✟282,290.00
Country
United States
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
For me it is when I let my thoughts become silent, or maybe I should say less turbulent. With less distraction it is like I am silently next to God. We touch each other in silence. Other prayers and scripture pave the way. I think sisters do a lot of that.

Upvote 0

Carl Emerson

Dec 18, 2017
Auckland
✟379,409.00
Country
New Zealand
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
If you ask Him into your life by repentance and rebirth then your experience of Him will change dramatically.

Human intimacy and intimacy with God are very different - it is a Spirit to Spirit intimacy reserved for Him alone.

Just to be clear there is no sexual aspect associated with Godly intimacy.

Upvote 0

tturt

Senior Veteran
Site Supporter
Oct 30, 2006
✟795,460.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
We're to pray without ceasing (I Thess 5:17) but there's alone time also "But you, when you pray, go into your room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret..." Matt 6:6 There will be interruptions but don't pursue them. Just spend a time deliberately focusing on Yahweh.

Can include during each dedicated time: