Country
Canada
Faith
Protestant
Marital Status
Separated
Politics
CA-Conservatives
As I'm still learning some things about the Lutheran church, I'm a bit confused about the context of Christ being present "in, with, and under" the bread and wine, as the words themselves relate to the Eucharist. Cam someone break this down for me?

Resha Caner

Expert Fool
Sep 16, 2010
✟148,100.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
As I'm still learning some things about the Lutheran church, I'm a bit confused about the context of Christ being present "in, with, and under" the bread and wine, as the words themselves relate to the Eucharist. Cam someone break this down for me?

It's not meant to be a clinical description of the Eucharist, but rather a compact phrase expressing our belief that Christ is present in the Eucharist, yet the elements themselves don't transform into body and blood as some believe. Even further, his presence is more than some mystical or sentimental common mind. God is physically present and those communing experience a physical consequence.

Upvote 0

FireDragon76

Supporter
Apr 30, 2013
Orlando, Florida
✟1,249,090.00
Country
United States
Faith
United Ch. of Christ
Marital Status
Legal Union (Other)
Politics
US-Democrat
.. yet the elements themselves don't transform into body and blood as some believe.

I think that point could be taken too far. In fact the Eucharistic prayer sometimes used before the Words of Institution often includes the epiclesis that the bread and wine become the body and blood of Christ.

My impression, at least at my particular church, is that there isn't a huge difference between Lutheran and Roman Catholic beliefs, at least pertaining to Christ's presence in the sacrament. Lutherans and Roman Catholics are certainly in more agreement than Lutherans and the Reformed, on this point.