I'm curious

writewords

Meant for ministry. Gloria in excelsis Deo.
Feb 24, 2017
Missouri
✟34,856.00
Country
United States
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Divorced
Politics
US-Republican
Is anyone in here part of a congregation that Is part of the Missouri Synod? I am a Christian writer, journalist and reverend who is interested in learning about other denominations. I have read the Missouri sand Wisconsin Synods confessions of faith. But I would like to speak to laity too.

MarkRohfrietsch

Unapologetic Apologist
Site Supporter
Dec 8, 2007
✟828,231.00
Country
Canada
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
Thank you for replying. What is the doctrinal statements regarding salvation? Are sacraments involved, or is it a grace by Faith position?
Grace by Faith... However God's grace is unlimited, and we also know from God's Word that Baptism, the Eucharist and Confession and Absolution are additional means of grace provided for us. Regarding Sacraments, the Augsburg Confession names the three above as Sacraments, however through the tightening of definitions to include direct institution by Christ and physical element(s) and Grace in the form of forgiveness and healing (spiritual and physical), identify only Baptism (water) and the Eucharist (Bread and Wine) as the two Sacraments. The other five can be called "sacramentals" and the Church retains them; Anointing of the sick, confirmation, ordination, marriage, Confession and Absolution; of these, only two convey grace; and only confession and Absolution were instituted by Christ, only the anointing of the sick has a physical element (oil).

Upvote 0

LizaMarie

Jan 17, 2015
✟142,962.00
Country
United States
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others