Country
United States
Faith
Episcopalian
Marital Status
Engaged
Politics
US-Democrat
I used to love being an EMT, I have been one now for over nineteen years. However, this company that I have been with for over four years has sapped that out of me. From the long hours to now my life is affected because my supervisor and his girlfriend (they work the same shifts together) are going to school and so that means my schedule has to be changed weekly. The schooling will be for a year. Then there are the extremely long hours as mentioned in my previous thread. The dispatching is horrible. There is no common sense applied when dispatching runs.

Here is an example of that. We work out of a satellite base that is 90 minutes from the main base. We were down there and told we could go back to our base. We had run a couple of calls to help them out down in their area. We get back and no sooner than five minutes after we do so, they say we have to go back down that way to a hospital which is an hour and ten minutes from us, and then take the patient two hours and twenty minutes away to a facility. That facility was an hour and ten minutes from our base. We weren't going to get back to our base till about three hours after our off time. I asked if the unit that was getting off later could do it as they were getting off three hours after we were or the overnight crew, both of which originated down there in that area out of the main base. was told no on both counts. That was a sixteen-hour day. Had to be back the next day with no change to our start time. Got less than five hours of sleep.

Could the other trucks have been busy? Sure. Could this run have been held off till the overnight crew wasn't busy? Yep! It was coming off the floor of a hospital and to be honest, they were in the safest spot for them.