Jul 10, 2012
✟568,802.00
Country
United States
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Single
Imagine you find a huge collection of ancient books from some extinct culture with religious beliefs and practices opposed to your own. There is a lot of new information about that culture in those books, but there is also a lot that disturbs and disgusts you.

Imagine you know that if these books become available to ordinary people then thousands or millions will fall away from your religion and go to hell (or some other bad fate).

(1) How do you feel about burning the books?
(2) How do you feel about not making these books a priority for digitization, preservation, and study?

In other words, you are choosing between preserving history and preserving souls.

Llleopard

Jun 5, 2018
Hawkes Bay New Zealand
✟135,529.00
Country
New Zealand
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
I'm a librarian. I think about this dilemma most days, as I shelve books for children about how to find and communicate with their angel guide, or evolution or eugenics, or books on spell casting. It would be my preference that these books never saw the light of day, but I am not a censor. I think everyone has the right to information so they can make informed choices. The rest is up to God.

Upvote 0

cloudyday2

Generic Theist
Site Supporter
Jul 10, 2012
✟568,802.00
Country
United States
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Single
I'm a librarian. I think about this dilemma most days, as I shelve books for children about how to find and communicate with their angel guide, or evolution or eugenics, or books on spell casting. It would be my preference that these books never saw the light of day, but I am not a censor. I think everyone has the right to information so they can make informed choices. The rest is up to God.

There is Acts 19:19 where the people who practiced magic brought several million dollars worth of books to Paul to burn, but that was a little different.