✟405,713.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Hello everyone,

Just to give you some background information. I am currently an officer and a helicopter pilot in the U.S. Marine Corps with a bachelors degree in Aeronautical Science. I have decided that once my obligations in the Marine Corps have been fulfilled in 2019 I would like to become a chaplain in the Navy. I have already did some research about the requirements to be a military chaplain. I know I need to get a M.DIV with at least 72 credit hours and I need to be ecclesiastically certified in my faith. I very much prefer physically attending seminary however because of my military obligations it is difficult so I am afraid that online education is the most practical way to go. I am Non-Denominational and looking at Regent University and Liberty University as possible options. I may be stationed in southern California in the near future so I have been looking at Westminster Seminary in California also.
My question is for the chaplains are:

If you are or have served as a military chaplain, what path did you take to get there? How did you do it?

Which university did you attend and how did you become ordained?

What advice would you have to give to help me on my journey?

pdudgeon

Traditional Catholic
Site Supporter
In Memory Of
Aug 4, 2005
South East Virginia, US
✟493,233.00
Country
United States
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Widowed
Politics
US-Republican
one of the best resources would be your own chaplains on the base where you're stationed. they have the practical information and experience that can be really
valuable when making such a decision.
both Regent and Liberty Universities are excellent (i personally know grads from both) and i believe that both offer distance learning.
prayers going up for your intentions!:amen::prayer:

Upvote 0

(° ͡ ͜ ͡ʖ ͡ °) (ᵔᴥᵔʋ)

Site Supporter
Oct 14, 2015
✟405,713.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married