Hoping you can offer a bit of advice before I end up falling away again.

Nov 22, 2016
Dumfries, Virginia, United States
✟11,719.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
So I actually haven't posted here in a rather long time besides an introduction. You can read through it if you'd like to get where I'm coming from and why I need help here.

I guess you could say I'm new to this Christian thing besides having been baptized at 14.

Basically, I went from strong atheism/agnosticism in my high school days (alternated between the two for some time) before experiencing some serious depression/anxiety issues among other things, and I guess somewhere in that time, I ended up coming back here (the faith, I mean). Of course, given my predisposition to over-analysis, rationality and whatnot that I so highly valued back then and still do, combined with both internal and external factors, I'm barely holding on here.

I tell myself I believe because I don't believe in extreme coincidences in regards to life or the origins of life itself (not that I don't believe in the Big Bang or evolution and all, I just don't think the former was really a matter of mere chance in space and time, and nothing more), and having at least a belief in a higher power at the time, I figured from historical evidence that I researched for a while that Jesus was definitely a big part of things. But I'm facing a dilemma where I feel I might've just been trying too hard to believe because I desperately needed good-enough answers for my predicament, or some kind of upside to look to. That's something I had heard and discussed a lot when talking about religion in general some years ago and am wondering if that's what's happening to me, despite doing my homework. I'm not sure if anyone can really help or comment on that one, but figured I'd put it out there nonetheless.