Staffordshire, United Kingdom
✟776,545.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Single
My chess set, given to me as a housewarming present a few years ago, by a dear friend.

I'm not very good at chess, and I'm still learning how to play it.

I have a chess set mainly for sentimental reasons. Prior to moving permanently into care, my terminally ill natural dad used to carry me on his back in the most atrocious weather conditions up to the children's home where I lived for many years. When we arrived there, we both used to sit at a table by the window, where a chess board was put out and he would try and teach me how to play it. Even though he was desperately ill and unfortunately passed away, this was one of the final memories I had of him - taking the time to sit with me, talk to me, and to teach me a new skill.

15894529_1589325681083666_669348008058184489_n.jpg

Upvote 0

bèlla

❤️
Site Supporter
Jan 16, 2019
USA
✟951,187.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
In Relationship
My chess set, given to me as a housewarming present a few years ago, by a dear friend.

That's a gorgeous set! Have you tried apps or computer programs? They're supposed to help.

Even though he was desperately ill and unfortunately passed away, this was one of the final memories I had of him - taking the time to sit with me, talk to me, and to teach me a new skill.

Wow, that's a precious memory. You're honoring him with the set. That's very loving. :)

I started playing as a child. My aunt made me. We had 3 games: chess, checkers, and Scrabble. She's 40 years older. That isn't a fair fight! She wouldn't play Monopoly. We'd battle over Scrabble though. I read a lot.

Upvote 0

Anthony2019

Pax et bonum!
Site Supporter
Jan 25, 2019
✟776,545.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Single
That's a gorgeous set! Have you tried apps or computer programs? They're supposed to help.