Visit site
✟833,237.00
Country
New Zealand
Faith
Charismatic
Marital Status
Married
I'm looking for answers on the Baptism of the Holy Spirit. I've been asking to receive this for 3 years now, and I don't know why I haven't. My husband received it while praying one day and he didn't even ask for it, it just happened. In fact, he had told me not long before that day that he wasn't sure he would ever want it. And then all of a sudden he just received. I don't understand. I've asked my pastor and he said most of the time it's because of a lack of yielding. I don't think that's my problem, though. There's been times I've sat here with tears running down my face, not understanding why it doesn't happen. I've asked God to show me if there's something my life that's preventing it, but i don't feel like there is. I know I'm saved, I've had prayers answered, I've been healed, I've felt God's presence on more than on occasion when I've been praying. What is wrong? Is it me, am I doing something wrong? I know it's different for everyone - my husband is an excellent example of that - but I simply don't understand what's preventing me from receiving and I'm becoming so distraught over it. Can someone help me understand?
I suggest that you take this post over to either the Spirit-filled/Charismatic or Pentecostal forum because they are safe forums that do not permit the Cessationists and other trolls muddying the waters for you. Trying to answer your questions on an open forum like this will end up being a confusing mess with trolls attacking the Charismatic or Pentecostal experience.

Upvote 0

Mark Quayle

Monergist; and by reputation, Reformed Calvinist
Site Supporter
May 28, 2018
Pennsylvania
✟791,648.00
Country
United States
Faith
Reformed
Marital Status
Widowed