Jan 8, 2010
✟23,413.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Hi folks, I have a wonderful girlfriend who is supportive of my career and shows me that she cares and helps encourage me towards godliness.

My problem is that I am very insecure of my own career because I am just getting started and she is quite far advanced. She is getting promoted left and right and I feel like I am getting left behind in the dust. She has been nothing but supportive of me and tells me that she doesn't like me just because of outward success but because of my faith and pursuit of God.

However, I still feel bad about it and I always feel like I'm competing with her and try to make as much money as her and try to feel like I'm pulling my weight.

We've been talking about marriage and the topic of career and money came up. I come from a traditional family background where my father worked and my mother bounced around different jobs as I was growing up, taking on mostly part time work so she could be home and take care of the family and household matters. I always just assumed that that would be my journey as well but clearly my girlfriend is much more financially successful than I am and that has shaken up a lot of my assumptions.