Southern U.S.
✟222,009.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single
I don't do a whole lot of gaming anymore. But as an indie developer, I like to keep up on trends, developments and innovations within the entertainment medium. I also remember the countless fun experiences my friends and I had with video games over the years, and various elements of them that caught my interest. Who can forget vehicle jacking in Halo 2, the Barrel Roll in Star Fox and wall jumping in Super Mario?

Are there any gameplay mechanics you found interesting, fun or innovative? Here are some that stand out to me:

Gears of War

Active Reload Minigame
active_reload.jpg

Quite ingenious for Epic Games to take such a common, monotonous action like weapon reloading and completely revolutionize it. In the Gears of War franchise, reloading has become a minigame in which you have to pay attention and perform the action just right, in order to be rewarded with a quick reload. If you miss, you can still get a moderately fast reload, or have your weapon jam if you're off completely.

Grenade and Torque Bow Targeting Arcs
575455-gears-of-war-3-xbox-360-screenshot-aiming-grenades-displays.jpg

When throwing grenade, a 3D targeting reticle or arc appears, showing you exactly where the grenade will land, even when colliding with nearby objects. Very useful and not something I've seen before. The Torque Bow has its own targetting arc that "blooms" and expands into a straight line as the bow charges. This show exactly where the bolt will land, depend on the extent you charge it.

Roadie Run
gears-of-war-marcus-roadie-run.jpg

You have the option to quickly retreat or advance using the Roadie Run. When the "run" button is held, your character will lower his weapon, crouch and sprint in the intended direction. This has its advantages and disadvantages: while it does allow you to move faster and makes you less of a target, you also lose the ability to quickly turn and to fire your gun.