Toronto
✟8,646.00
Country
Canada
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single
(forgive the repost - just hoping to reach more eyes on this time sensitive matter - if it's not permitted to post in two separate relevant forum sections then pls let me know and I'll remove this :) )

Hi folks,

Can I get some advice on the following topic? Pretty nervous about a family vacation.

I'm to go on a cruise in 6 days with extended family (no parents or siblings). 7 day cruise + 1.5 travel days. I'm very new to the faith myself, just seeking Jesus and hoping that I'll feel more of His presence as I continue to read the Bible / pray.

I've been taking a lot of distance from most of my relationships (because most of the people in my life are non-Christians) and am wondering if it's even okay to go on this cruise I'm supposed to go on. I know there's lots of arguments to also go on this cruise, and be a witness/spread salt.. But I doubt if I'm ready to do that as I'm not even feeling the proximity to Jesus yet that I hear a lot of believers to talk about.

I've been running into Bible verses that make me feel convicted about going forward on the cruise (as there seem to be plenty of Bible verses telling believers to come separate [at least to some degree] from unbelievers). So far the steps I've taken in my life to try to come closer to God have been really really difficult (I'm not yet feeling a lot of that joy in Christ that I hear many Christians talk about) so I'm afraid of being swept back into worldly thinking [as I find myself often looking back over my shoulder to what I gave up - even occupationally - to seek God].

I would be rooming with a cousin who is now coming to identify as Christian - but in a very un-Biblical way (mixing in New Age beliefs, implying that there's so many different ways to be Christian and it'd be judgemental to say there's one right way, only applying parts of the Bible that make him happy, advocating for LGBT Christianity).

Thoughts??

God bless.