Midwest
✟156,730.00
Country
United States
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Hi all, I’m new here. I’m also new to the Lutheran LCMS Faith, coming from Catholicism. I agree with everything about LCMS, so far, except their teaching on no evolution and the earth being 6000 to 10,000 years old. I believe in an old earth and probably believe in evolution. My new pastor knows about this and when I asked if I shouldn’t be bothered by this as long as I accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior, he said”correct”,and told me to stay at my new church. Is this (my beliefs) something I should be troubled about or it ok?

Neogaia777

Old Soul
Site Supporter
Oct 10, 2011
Oregon
✟960,197.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Celibate
Hi all, I’m new here. I’m also new to the Lutheran LCMS Faith, coming from Catholicism. I agree with everything about LCMS, so far, except their teaching on no evolution and the earth being 6000 to 10,000 years old. I believe in an old earth and probably believe in evolution. My new pastor knows about this and when I asked if I shouldn’t be bothered by this as long as I accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior, he said”correct”,and told me to stay at my new church. Is this (my beliefs) something I should be troubled about or it ok?
Depends on whether it troubles you or not really...?

You have to decide that for yourself...

God Bless!

Upvote 0

Silverback

Feb 13, 2019
South East
✟66,766.00
Country
United States
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married

Personal views concerning young earth vs old earth vs evolution, have no impact on salvation. We are saved by God's grace, for Christ sake, through faith.

We are called to live our faith, no cheap grace here, but faith is what saved you, lack of faith is what condemns you...not your personal views on the age of the Earth.

Upvote 0

Jord Simcha

Nov 30, 2019
Groningen
✟60,922.00
Country
Netherlands
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single