Does infinity exist in the physical world?

Does infinity exist?

• It necessarily exists. (Give example why?)

• It possibly exists. (preference on existence)

• It possibly does not exist.

• It necessarily does not exist. (Again example why)

• Other. (Please explain)

Results are only viewable after voting.

MarcusHill

Educator and learner
May 1, 2007
Manchester
✟16,512.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
UK-Liberal-Democrats
It depends on what you mean by "infinity", "exist" and "the physical world". Sorry if that sounds like a coput, but I'm a mathematician.

Incidentally, a number smaller than any real number but not equal to zero is an "infinitessimal", not infinite. They're not really in vogue at the moment.

On a related note, 0.99999.... with infinitely many nines is equal to 1. Not slightly less, not "approaching", not subtly different from - they're two representations of the same number.

Upvote 0

yasic

Part time poster, Full time lurker
Sep 9, 2005
✟14,558.00
Faith
Atheist
Infinity is not always large. Sometimes is it small. Imagine the number .0000000... with infinite zeroes, but that is not the number zero. Infinitely small, but still substantial.

Actually... it is zero.

Every real number has 2 infinite decimal expansions which equal the number. one of them ends with 0000... the other with 9999...

For example, take the number 12.4

The first infinite decimal expansion which equals 12.4 is 12.40000000... the second is 12.3999999999....

EDIT: Every real number except for 0 has 2 infinite decimal expansions.

EDIT2:

Gah I am making way to many mistakes here for a math major,

- Every real number without an infinite decimal expansion (except for zero) has 2 differently expressed numbers with infinite decimal expansions which are equivalent to the number. -

I really hope I did not miss anything this time *sigh*

Upvote 0

dud1

Apr 24, 2007
✟15,161.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single