Jul 8, 2015
South Africa
✟17,670.00
Faith
Charismatic
Marital Status
Single
Hi all,

I’m a newbie to the forum, this being my second post.

At the beginning of this year I set as my goal to ‘crack’ the creation-evolution nut once and for all, if possible. To this end I have been watching numerous debates on youtube, downloading stuff, etc.

Science is not my natural bent (I am a theologian) and I am constantly amazed by what I am learning.

I am endeavouring to maintain as open a mind as I can in an effort to interpret the available scientific evidence on this subject. I intend posting different observations and questions I have from time to time, and would be interested to get feedback.

My first questions pertain to the issue of mutations. As I say, I cannot ‘think’ in science as such, this not being my subject, but I would appreciate observations of those who are versed in science.

On the one hand, I have seen that nature, genetics and DNA have a remarkable propensity for ingenuity and inventiveness. When under pressure, when they have to, mutations can do impressive things. Wolves apparently developed into dogs over time (BTW are creationists in agreement with this?), etc. I suppose this is par for the course with a vital aspect of nature, as per ‘adapt or die’.

The standard creationist view on this is to say that DNA is limited to what it is programmed to do, like software, ie, if it is not programmed to become another species, it cannot, no matter how badly the environmental pressures demand it.

I believe evolutionists rebut this by saying that DNA ‘gets out of’ this in that the DNA from one creature will merge with the slightly different DNA from another, albeit similar, creature, and new forms and DNA types will develop or ‘evolve’ through this.