SeekingTruthInGA

Mar 15, 2005
Atlanta, GA
✟15,113.00
Faith
Methodist
Politics
US-Republican
Hi Everyone! I am a Newbie to this sight, but I think it will be a great outlet for me to discuss the scriptural issues surrounding my divorce. My ex left me for no ther reason than she did not want to be married to a teacher. Yes our marriage had problems, but none that were not fixable. My issue now is that my ex is now in an adulterous relationship. She gave the divorcehope.com website to try and prove that she was not committing adultery. I have been reading the excerpts and also trying to find out more about the author. At this point, Stephen Gola has very little credibility as he is self-taught and believes that God talks directly to him. He also has never been divorced. Although I do believe that their are reasons for divorce and that some people do stay in a bad marriage, I also believe that there should be some scriptural basis for divorce. Over 12 years ago, we made a covenant with God that said we would stay married no matter what til death do us part. I believe that all marriages have their ups and downs and that it is during the downs that we really need to lean on God. I also believe that we should lean on God during the good times too. Gola believes that a single person is more important than a covenant with God. To me, that is like saying a single person has the right to be above the law, any law, as long as it fits their personal needs. Its like saying its okay for me to steal a car, because I need the car even though it is against the law. Gola also believes that God speaks directly to him and those of us who have studied the scriptures know that God stopped that when we crucified his son on the cross. I believe that God does speak to us, but indirectly. The best example I can give of that is that one day I was at work stressing over when I would ever get to see my girls again and prayed to God saying that my girls were in his hands and that he would do wha